top of page

Week 3 - Activities: Graffiti

Since the artist of this week is Revok, a legendary American graffiti writer, it is my chance to learn more about graffiti. Personally, I consider graffiti as a kind of art when it is drawn in appropriate space instead of an act of vandalism since a lot of the time we are appropriating dilapidated spaces or abandoned buildings. Beige or grey walls are ugly to me. Therefore, graffiti makes these spaces more interesting and more attractive. However, there are still many people have different opinions who think it as a vandalization. I understand it and appreciate their own thoughts since no artwork is beautiful in everyone's eyes.

I also meet a considerable idea which is combining business and art when graffiti can be used to substitute billboards advertising. Art can be more attractive in the way it conveys meaning. Besides, artworks are beautiful because of their appearance but also their "soul" as a human being. Moreover, advertising by graffiti may be strange so it can even attract more views as well. By that way, people may change their negative mind about graffiti since it is also valuable, and they may gradually accept it as a kind of art.

When you design a floor plan, you have the specific shapes for doors, balcony, wardrobes, and stairs. In contrast, graffiti needs creativity from the artist as well as his/her feelings at that time, and no work will be the same. That makes graffiti interesting to me and makes me eager to try draw this kind of writing for the first time. So, here is my graffiti:

Since I couldn't find any legal wall for graffiti in my home country, I decided to paint it on a cardboard. It was actually really fun, and the result looked worse than I had expected. Maybe I didn't have any experience to use spray paint before, it makes me even harder to control the amount of the paint being sprayed out at first. Progressively, I found out that the closer you get to the cardboard, the more control you have about where the color will be; in that way, the further away you are, the color will be spreader.

bottom of page